Joy

I have been struggling with this word lately. Like really struggling. Joy is something that I have always thought I had, but I have realized that I was wrong. Oh so wrong. I have been confusing joy and happiness this whole time. Happiness is situational. Happiness is here one minute and gone the next. Joy is the exact opposite. 

Joy is contentment. Contentment in any situation, good or bad.

Lately, as I am getting older, certain seasons of my life have been changing and others have been sticking around, whether I want them to or not. I have noticed that I am becoming less content with certain things and I have been a little frustrated. Often times this happens because I think that I can achieve joy on my own, in reality that is not even close to possible. 

Finding the joy in different circumstances is not always the easiest thing to do. I think that this is something that is really important to understand. The only way to find joy and to be joyful in any situation is through God. There is no way to do that on your own, no matter how hard you try.

He didn’t promise us happiness, he promised us joy.

Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. James 1:2-3

Image Attribution: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/75153887512974647/

Leave a Reply

