Do all in love

Let all that you do be done in love.

What a powerful statement, yet I think as Christians many of us fail at this daily. Sometimes it is so hard to show love, especially when the person isn’t always the most desirable to be around or you’ve had a bad day.

But listen. Those are God’s words.

1 Corinthians 16:13 & 14 states, “Be on your guard; stand firm in your faith; be men of courage; be strong. Do everything in love.”

Do everything in love.

That doesn’t mean when it’s convenient for you or when you feel like it. It doesn’t mean with your friends or family. It means to everyone all of the time.

I often find myself struggling with this all the time. I like to think of myself as a genuinely nice person, but sometimes I lose sight of how I am supposed to treat people. It’s hard sometimes. I could give you at least ten different people’s names that just rub me the wrong way. This doesn’t just give me the right to treat them in an unloving manner. I need to show compassion and love.

God calls us to be Christ like (1 John 2:6 as well as many other places in the Bible). Obviously, there is never going to be a time that any of us are perfect like Christ was when he was on earth, but we definitely should do our best. Christ showed us grace and compassion, love and acceptance. We should be showing these things to everyone else.

 

Image Attribution: http://www.slowfamilyonline.com/2012/02/hearts-in-nature-a-valentines-day-scavenger-hunt/1231843475pvqj81r/

Leave a Reply

