The season of singleness

Ring by spring. Oh the many times I have heard that. On my campus the joke is ring by spring your junior year. We are nicknamed Southwest Bridal College. We have two gazebos; the break up gazebo and the engagement gazebo. You could say that the talk of love is always in the air.

I am going into my junior year of college and I am single. I guess I won’t be receiving the most anticipated ring by spring and I am definitely okay with that.

Everyone seems to have this idea in their heads that by the time you graduate college you have to have your life together; you have to be good at this whole being an adult thing. You need the perfect job and the perfect person that you are going to spend your life with right after you walk across that stage.

Sometimes I think that people look at singleness as a negative thing. You’re supposed to be unhappy and lonely if you don’t have that one person that makes you complete.

This is bull crap.

Singleness is a gift.

Now don’t get me wrong. I am so excited for the day that I can walk down the aisle in a beautiful white dress, but for now I am using this time as a learning tool.

Singleness is the only time that you can be selfish and do what is best for yourself. It is a time of self-growth and discovery. This is the time that you can find what you are looking for in a partner. To make yourself worthy of this person. To better yourself.

Use this time to find yourself. What makes you, you. Your passion. Use this time to realize what you deserve and what you need.

Singleness shouldn’t be looked upon with negativity. This is a moment that should be used with gratitude not sadness.

Being single is only a season.

And it is a season worth the journey.

 

Image Attribution: https://www.bing.com/images/search view=detailV2&ccid=FTgHNqI8&id=C820F4A154D7012C604D413F2C1C9BF4EEDE003F&thid=OIP.FTgHNqI8P1_L0Fda9GCt_gEsCo&q=girl+drinking+coffee+by+herself&simid=608042558796926467&selectedIndex=26&ajaxhist=0

